History of the Taita People

From: Aggrey Mtalaki

The Taita are among the Bantu speaking group in Kenya, they originated from the Congo forest and they passed through L Tanganyika in Tanzania.  They entered into Kenya and they settled between the border of Kenya and Tanzania in Kenya’s South West.  They settled on the hills which are now referred to as the Taita hills.

The Taita consist of 3 tribes:

  1. Wadawida
  2. Wasaghala
  3. Watateta

The languages of these tribes are very similar to the Swahili language and they are similar to each other.

Aggrey Mtalaki
3rd Year Student,
Pwani University Campus, Jkuat,Kenya

Posted on 18/01/2011, in Culture. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: